2017-18 SEASON

KENT SNOOKER UNDER 21s - 22.10.17

Victoria Snooker Centre, Tunbridge Wells

Winner: Ben Sizer
Runner-up: James Addison-May


Only two entrants for our Under 21s event but at least that was enough for the competition to go ahead. Reigning champion Ben Sizer would go head-to-head once again with James Addison-May this time in a best of nine. The first frame was a close affair with Ben clearing up with a long blue and pink and a tricky black along the cushion to pinch it.


After two dominant frames from Ben he forged ahead to make it three nil. Despite James coming into his own and build a healthy lead, Ben drew on his experience and got himself back into the match with some good match play and a terrific break of 44 to steal it on the black and make it four nil.


In the fifth, James kocked in highest break, 32 but once again Ben came back strongly and won the frame and the match on the yellow to see him retain his crown for a fifth successive time and take home £25 for the win plus £10 for the highest break.


We really need more entries to this tournament next year.


Victoria Snooker Centre, Tunbridge Wells

Winner: Andy Soper
Runner-up: Malcolm Smith

We had a strong field of 16 players including past champions Tony Molineaux, Paul West, Tony Holdstock and the defending champion Alan Bailey.  For the first time in the history of the event all matches were contested over the best of five frames.


Incredibly the first round saw no fewer than five whitewashes with an early defeat for Alan Bailey against Andy Soper the most notable.  The remaining three matches all ended 3-1 including a good win for Ron Goodwin over Tony Holdstock.
The quarter-finals started after a short lunch.  While Paul West overcame James Toland a battle ensued between Andy Soper and Tony Molineaux.  Andy prevailed 3-2.  Malcolm Smith forged ahead after his first round victory over Doug Vingoe to beat Clive Underhill 3-1 and so secured his place in the semi-finals.  Meanwhile, Chris Ifill played excellently to beat Ron Goodwin 3-1.  Ron’s only consolation was a superb 67 break - the highest of the day.


The semi-finals got underway around 4pm.  Andy Soper seemed to gain momentum and confidently dispatched Paul West 3-0 (the scoreline never telling the full story).  The other semi-final saw a closer affair with Chris Ifill and Malcolm Smith - an unstoppable force against an immovable object!  Malcolm’s excellent all-round game and steely composure eventually saw him prevail 3-1.  Paul and Chris both received £15.


The final began shortly after 6pm.  It promised to be a close encounter, with Andy, the current Kent Player of the Year against the experienced campaigner Malcolm Smith fighting for the title and £100 first prize.  It was truly nip and tuck with honours being shared as each frame passed.  Both players brought their best play of the day to the final.  After almost four hours of hard match-play snooker Andy Soper took the title 3-2.  Malcolm received £50 for his contribution to an exciting final.


Thanks go to the Victoria Club for hosting the event and for keeping the candles burning past their usual closing time.